Skip to main content

Image / Plumas House

Have a question about this item?

Item Information. View source record on contributor's website.

Title
Plumas House
Contributor
Plumas County Museum
Date Created and/or Issued
ca. 1880
Publication Information
Meriam Library. California State University, Chico
Contributing Institution
California State University, Chico
Collection
Northeastern California Historical Photograph Collection
Rights Information
Use of digital images found on this website is permitted for private or personal use only. This material may be protected by U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S. Code).
To request permission for reuse of this image select this link to our web request form: https://library.csuchico.edu/special-collections/license
Description
View of the Plumas House in Quincy, Plumas County with many of its tenants on the front porch steps
Gus Berg laoding the Gibsonville. Plumas House was built on the site of Quincy's first hotel which was a log building built by Billy Houck, George W. Sharpe and E.H. Pierce, was run by Sharpe (1854). Plumas House built from James Edwards, built from lumber hauled to town by Louie Hartwell from his father's ranch in American Valley. A large warehousse was torn down. Later the dormer windows were added as was an annex to the north side. Plumas House properties were James Edwards, Will Edwards (son of James), Mrs. Will Edward, Harding, Tom Loveless, Phillips Bloom, Barney Schneider, Carl Hanlale. Plumas House destroyed by fire, June 3, 1923
Type
Image
Format
120 x 200 mm
Identifier
sc11069
http://archives.csuchico.edu/cdm/ref/collection/coll11/id/20637
Subject
Hotels
Housing
Place
Plumas County (Calif.)
Quincy (Calif.)
Source
sc11069.tif
Relation
original not owned
Northeastern California Historical Photograph Collection

Explore related content on Calisphere: