University of Southern California Digital Library > California Historical Society Collection, 1860-1960 > Drawing of Mission Carmel (San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo), by Captain William Smyth, R.N., ca.1839

Image / Drawing of Mission Carmel (San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo), by Captain William ...

Have a question about this item?

Item Information. View source record on contributor's website.

Title
Drawing of Mission Carmel (San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo), by Captain William Smyth, R.N., ca.1839
Creator
Pierce, C.C. (Charles C.), 1861-1946
Date Created and/or Issued
circa 1839
Publication Information
University of Southern California. Libraries
Contributing Institution
University of Southern California Digital Library
Collection
California Historical Society Collection, 1860-1960
Rights Information
Doheny Memorial Library, Los Angeles, CA 90089-0189
Public Domain. Release under the CC BY Attribution license--http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/--Credit both “University of Southern California. Libraries” and “California Historical Society” as the source. Digitally reproduced by the USC Digital Library; From the California Historical Society Collection at the University of Southern California
Send requests to address or e-mail given
USC Libraries Special Collections
specol@usc.edu
Description
Photograph of a drawing of Mission Carmel (San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo), by Captain William Smyth, R.N., ca.1839. Two people sit next to a tall tree on a hill overlooking the mission. The mission has two bell towers flanking the façade of the church. To the left of the church is an arcade. Trails coming from the left and the right lead to the mission. To the right, past the road, are residential houses(?).
"The stone church at Carmel is different from all others in the chain, in that the walls taper inward forming a catenary arch, rather than the usual flat ceiling. On the exterior, the unique bell tower, with its outside stairway, shows definite Moorish influence. The great church was four years in the building, being dedicated in 1797. Father Serra now lies buried under the altar. The Indian population had dwindled by the 1820s. By 1836, two years after secularization, the destruction of mission life was complete. The church and quadrangle were essentially in ruins when the first efforts at restoration began in 1884. Then in 1931, a layman, Harry Downie, came to Carmel, as curator in charge of restoring the mission. From that time until his death in 1980, Harry dedicated his life to the California missions, working on numerous other restorations as well as at his beloved Carmel." -- unknown author.
Type
image
Format
1 microfilm frame : negative, b&w
35 mm.
drawings
microfilms
photographs
art
Identifier
chs-m17483
USC-1-1-1-14075 [Legacy record ID]
CHS-5755
http://doi.org/10.25549/chs-m17483
http://thumbnails.digitallibrary.usc.edu/CHS-5755.jpg
Subject
Carmel Mission
Missions--Mission Carmel (San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo)
Missions, Spanish
Religious facilities
Time Period
circa 1839
Place
California
Monterey
USA
Source
1-127-29 [Microfiche number]
5755 [Accession number]
CHS-5755 [Call number]
California Historical Society [Contributing entity]
H [Microfilm reel number]
Relation
California Historical Society Collection, 1860-1960
Title Insurance and Trust, and C.C. Pierce Photography Collection, 1860-1960
USC
chs-m265

Explore related content on Calisphere: