UC Riverside, Library, Water Resources Collections and Archives > Clearinghouse for Dam Removal Information (CDRI) > Bear Rock Run 1 & 2 dam removals

Text / Bear Rock Run 1 & 2 dam removals

Have a question about this item?

Item Information.

Title
Bear Rock Run 1 & 2 dam removals
Creator
Sara Strassman
Date Created and/or Issued
2007
Contributing Institution
UC Riverside, Library, Water Resources Collections and Archives
Collection
Clearinghouse for Dam Removal Information (CDRI)
Rights Information
Copyrighted
Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by copyright beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Works not in the public domain cannot be commercially exploited without permission of the copyright owner. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.
Description
Scope/Content: Abstract: These 25- and 45-foot high dams were built from 1903 to 1904 by the Mountain Springs Water Co., later the Summit Water Supply Co. (predecessor to Highland Sewer and Water Authority) to provide water to the Pennsylvania Railroad in the Cresson/Gallitzin area. The dams no longer serve their original purpose and are a liability for the owner. The removal of these dams will complete a series of 4 dam removal projects in the Little Conemaugh River watershed that will improve habitat and fish passage in three coldwater fisheries. The owners are seeking funding for the removal of the dams to offset their capital investments. Details in this grant report are subject to change.
Scope/Content: Author affiliation: American Rivers
Type
text
Identifier
ark:/86086/n2tm79km
813
Subject
Safety and liability
Dams
Dam retirement
Place
Little Conemaugh River, PA
Bear Rock Run 1
Lat: 40.410166 (1), 40.412337 (2); Long: -78.584149 (1), -78.585046 (2)
Bear Rock Run 2

Explore related content on Calisphere: