Los Angeles Public Library > Los Angeles Public Library Photo Collection > Occidental College sign

Image / Occidental College sign

Have a question about this item?

Item Information. View source record on contributor's website.

Title
Occidental College sign
Alternative Title
Los Angeles Photographers Photo Collection;
Creator
Schultheis, Herman
Contributor
Made accessible through a grant from the John Randolph Haynes and Dora Haynes Foundation
Date Created and/or Issued
[ca. 1939]
Contributing Institution
Los Angeles Public Library
Collection
Los Angeles Public Library Photo Collection
Rights Information
Images available for reproduction and use. Please see the Ordering & Use page at http://tessa.lapl.org/OrderingUse.html for additional information.
Description
Title supplied by cataloger.; Herman J. Schultheis was born in Aachen, Germany in 1900, and immigrated to the United States in the mid-1920s after obtaining a Ph.D. in mechanical and electrical engineering. He married Ethel Wisloh in 1936, and the pair moved to Los Angeles the following year. He worked in the film industry from the late 1930s to the mid-1940s, most notably on the animated features "Fantasia" and "Pinocchio." His detailed notebook, documenting the special effects for "Fantasia," is the subject of a 14-minute short-subject included on the film's DVD. In 1949, he started employment with Librascope as a patent engineer. Schultheis was an avid amateur photographer who traveled the world with his cameras. It was on one of these photographic exhibitions in 1955 that he disappeared in the jungles of Guatemala. His remains were discovered 18 months later. The digitized portion of this collection represents the images Schultheis took of Los Angeles and its surrounding communities after he relocated to the area in 1937.
Eagle Rock is a neighborhood in northeastern Los Angeles that derives its name from a massive boulder at the district's northern edge. The boulder contains an indentation that creates an eagle-shaped shadow everyday around noon. In the 1880s Eagle Rock existed as a farming community with grand Victorian farmhouses and many exquisite Craftsman homes in charming neighborhoods. In 1906 Eagle Rock became an independent city and was incorporated in 1911 with a population of approximately 600; in 1914 it also became home to Occidental College, one of our country's most prestigious liberal arts colleges, designed by Myron Hunt in the Mediterranean revival style and built between 1911 and 1913. In 1920, Eagle Rock's population had grown to 2,250. Just one year later, in 1921, this figure had leaped to 3,800. Since then, the city has been experiencing gentrification as young urban professionals discover this gem between Glendale and Pasadena, minutes away from downtown Los Angeles. Today, the community of Eagle Rock with its famous landmark is home to approximately 27,875 people.
View of street signs at the intersection of York Boulevard and N. Ave. 46. Another sign below it gives directions to Occidental College, with an arrow pointing left. The Automobile Club of Southern California posted such signs before local government took over the responsibility. Occidental College is located at 1600 Campus Road in Eagle Rock.
Type
Image
Format
1 photographic print :b&w ;11 x 14 cm.
Photographic prints
Identifier
00077953
Herman J Schultheis Collection; Los Angeles Photographers Collection;
N-010-061 8x10
CARL0000079724
http://173.196.26.125/cdm/ref/collection/photos/id/35989
Subject
Automobile Club of Southern California
Occidental College
Traffic signs and signals--California--Los Angeles
Signs and signboards--California--Los Angeles
Streets--California--Eagle Rock (Los Angeles)
York Boulevard (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Avenue 46 (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Eagle Rock (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Schultheis Collection photographs

Explore related content on Calisphere: