California State Archives > McCarthy (William M.) Photograph Collection > McCarthy Album 06, Photograph 206

Image / McCarthy Album 06, Photograph 206

Have a question about this item? Contact Owner

Item Information. View source record on contributor's website.

Title
McCarthy Album 06, Photograph 206
Contributor
Audrey Fullerton-Samora of Sacramento, great niece of William and Grace McCarthy, donated the William M. McCarthy Photograph Collection to the California State Archives in 1996
Date Created and/or Issued
1906
Publication Information
California State Archives, a division of the California Secretary of State's Office
Contributing Institution
California State Archives
Collection
McCarthy (William M.) Photograph Collection
Rights Information
© 2017 by the California State Archives, a division of the Secretary of State’s Office. Contact the owner for more information at ArchivesWeb@sos.ca.gov or (916) 653-2246.
Description
Caption: "Call Building," c. 1906. The remains of the Call building after the 1906 earthquake and fire. Completed in 1898 and designed by civic leader Claus Spreckels, the Call building on the corner of 3rd and Market streets was one of the first skyscrapers in San Francisco, built to house the San Francisco Call newspaper offices. While the structure withstood the 1906 earthquake, the interior caught fire and sustained considerable damage. After major renovations, the building is today known as The Central Tower.
Type
image
Format
JPEG, scanned at 400 DPI, 24-bit color
Identifier
96-07-08-alb06-206
http://exhibits.sos.ca.gov/items/show/8598
http://exhibits.sos.ca.gov/files/original/aa38c9faabb6be57a3b3afed8e58c290.jpg
Language
English
Subject
Call Building after San Francisco Earthquake
Place
San Francisco, California
Source
Image of an item within the William M. McCarthy Photograph Collection (96-07-08)

Explore related content on Calisphere: