Los Angeles Public Library > Los Angeles Public Library Photo Collection > Japanese Union Church sign

Image / Japanese Union Church sign

Have a question about this item?

Item Information. View source record on contributor's website.

Japanese Union Church sign
Alternative Title
Los Angeles Photographers Photo Collection;
Schultheis, Herman
Made accessible through a grant from the John Randolph Haynes and Dora Haynes Foundation
Date Created and/or Issued
[ca. 1937]
Contributing Institution
Los Angeles Public Library
Los Angeles Public Library Photo Collection
Rights Information
Images available for reproduction and use. Please see the Ordering & Use page at http://tessa.lapl.org/OrderingUse.html for additional information.
Title supplied by cataloger.; Herman J. Schultheis was born in Aachen, Germany in 1900, and immigrated to the United States in the mid-1920s after obtaining a Ph.D. in mechanical and electrical engineering. He married Ethel Wisloh in 1936, and the pair moved to Los Angeles the following year. He worked in the film industry from the late 1930s to the mid-1940s, most notably on the animated features Fantasia and Pinocchio. His detailed notebook, documenting the special effects for Fantasia, is the subject of a 14-minute short-subject included on the film's DVD. In 1949, he started employment with Librascope as a patent engineer. Schultheis was an avid amateur photographer who traveled the world with his cameras. It was on one of these photographic exhibitions in 1955 that he disappeared in the jungles of Guatemala. His remains were discovered 18 months later. The digitized portion of this collection represents the images Schultheis took of Los Angeles and its surrounding communities after he relocated to the area in 1937.
The Japanese Union Church of Los Angeles was established in1918 through the merger of three congregations, the Los Angeles Presbyterian Church, the Los Angeles Congregational Church, and the Japanese Bethlehem Congregational Church of Los Angeles. The church building at 120 N. San Pedro Street was dedicated in 1923. In 1955, the name of the Japanese Union Church of Los Angeles was changed to the Union Church of Los Angeles. In 1976 the building was sold to the City of Los Angeles and the church relocated to 3rd and San Pedro. In 1986 the building was declared a City of Los Angeles Historic Cultural Monument.
Nestled in the bushes, this wooden sign for the Japanese Union Church located at 120 N. San Pedro offers services Sundays and Wednesdays. A Southern California Telephone company sign is attached to the top right.
1 photographic print :b&w ;15 x 11 cm.
Photographic prints
Herman J Schultheis Collection; Los Angeles Photographers Collection;
N-006-849 8x10
Japanese Union Church (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Church buildings--California--Little Tokyo (Los Angeles)
Presbyterian Church--California--Little Tokyo (Los Angeles)
Signs and signboards--California--Little Tokyo (Los Angeles)
Los Angeles Historic-Cultural Monuments
Little Tokyo (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Schultheis Collection photographs

Explore related content on Calisphere: